Email - Tel 011 2 692 308

About | US

The Club founded in 1933, is primarily a sporting club with focus towards aquatic sports. Club’s Committee consisted of Mr. O.B. de Silva as the President, Mr. W. Pollard an Englishman as the Vice President, Mr. Greg Roskowski as the Hony General Secretary and Mr. Quintus Soyza as the Hony Treasurer. The other members of the Committee were Mr. Nick Anthony, Mr. K.M. Ibramsa, Mr. G. de Silva and Mr. Clarence Adams.

In very early days the monthly subscription was only 25 cents and later increased to Rs.1/-. The Thomian pool which was in close vicinity was used as the Club’s pool on a payment and the nearby sea as a standby facility. In 1950 Mr. Walter Rutnam and Mr. Neville Jansz of the Club succeeded in negotiating and getting an undeveloped land from the Government in an area to the East of Bullers Road, presently Bauddhaloka Mawatha. In early 1951 the first sod was cut for the present main pool and the foundation stone laid for the Club House building. A soft opening of the Club was held in early 1955.

From such obscure and frugal beginnings; at present the Club today has a membership of nearly 6500 members, in all categories.

Founders of the Otter Aquatic Club

Currently the Club has the distinction of having 3 swimming pools, one as the main pool, one as a training pool and the kiddies’ pool.Additionally, we have three clay Tennis courts with two of them flood lit, two Indoor Badminton courts and two tables in air-conditioning for Snooker & Billiards with one for Pool. The Club also has 2 Squash courts.

The Clubhouse consists of a separate Dining area with two Bars, a Restaurant, Gym, Table tennis and a Sports shop. In house channel music played by our resident DJ, Junkeer's Record Bar, for over 3 decades, plays softly throughout the Clubhouse.

An interesting feature of the Club is its location in the middle of an elite residential area – Colombo 7. As a result, the Club is within easy access to all concerned at all times. Founded in 1933 the "Otter Aquatic Club" celebrated its 75th Anniversary in year 2008.

The Governing Body of term 2008 – 2009; headed by President Mr. Sisil De Silva, the Hony. General Secretary is Mr. Mayura Amarasinghe and along with the Vice President, Mr. Vinod Lalvani and the rest of the General Committee, decided to celebrate the entire year as its 75th Anniversary and kick started the celebrations with the ‘Gypsies’ musical night. The Minister of Sports & Public Recreation Hon Gamini Lokuge was the Chief Guest among the other Ministers who were present on the day.

The Otter Splash 2008 was held on 7th November 2008 at the Trans Asia hotel with over 350 members and their guests in attendance. This gala event was a great success and marking club’s 75th Anniversary 75 pendants were given away for the first 75 ladies and the Club’s web site,, was launched on the same day.

The present President Mr. Suresh De Silva, along with the rest of the General Committee Members strives hard to put Otters in the limelight of current sport and social events in the Country.

General Committee 2015


Mr. Sisil De Silva


Mr. Jeewana M. Fernando


Mr. Mayura Amarasinghe


Mr. Shantha Amarakoon


Mr. Shantha Wijeratne


Mr. Sanharsha Jayathissa


Mr. Nalaka Wickramasinghe


Mr. A. Karunagaran


Mr. Punith S. Saparamadu


Mrs. Marie Abdeen


Mr. M.H. Jawahir


Ms. L.S. Mollogoda